254 Quattro
Benelli Motorcycle Forum - Benelli Bike Discussions - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: 254 Quattro

Member #

254 Quattro

I have to say its really cool for me to be posting on a Benelli forum. I got to see them raced at Laguna WSBK and i'm sure most of us there remember the beautiful Benelli's more than who won. And the wailing sound as they accelerated up the hill!!! WOW!!! I could be happy with one of those bikes for a long long time. Well I got my first Benelli, I hope you can overlook the name tags on it as I think it fits in here. Its an outstanding bike, very good condition for 13,000km's but has a couple issues. I'm a good mechanic, machinist and would like to share bringing it up to a reliable daily rider that doesn't mind a hard ride in the hills. When I say hard ride I mean riding quickly with others on small bikes. If that sounds like a lot to ask i'll have to say its almost there other than some shifting and jetting issues. This things a freaking blast to jet around on. Its easy to imagine your on twice the bike at twice speed. Rails around turns. If I get stopped by the cops i'll get arrested for laughing.

Have any here messed with a shift shaft like this. Its pushing the pins back instead of rotating the drum sometimes. The sliding pins in the shaft and pins in the drum don't show any wear or damage. I'm thinking of tweaking the pins in the drum outward a few thousandths at a time to see if it helps the sliding pin catch it. I'm going to use a steel rod with a hole in the end to slip over the roll pins in the drum to tweak them. The problem got real bad when I put Mobile 1 in.

Last edited by edgefinder; 08-17-2012 at 08:04 PM.

Name
    ron daly
    Member #
    Thats one nice looking bike, i hope you get it sorted and up and running. ron d

Member #
    Congratulations and enjoy restoring this nice Quattro.
    Post pics of the improvements...
    Carles