Benelli Forum banner

250 2C racer project

12K views 21 replies 6 participants last post by  smokey125 
#1 ·
Hi I’m new on the forum and I have some questions about the 250 2C.
Thought I would start with an introduction to myself. I started riding schoolboy trials 24 years ago and I’ve been racing bikes for 20 years I’ve always ridden classics and for quite a few years modern bikes as well.
With the ever tightening budgets I’ve decided to go a slightly different way and I’ve just brought a 2C (it’s actually a Moto Guzzi TS but I prefer the Benelli colours) to race in the BEARS class at BHR and the air-cooled post classic class at CRMC.
I’m doing this on a budget so upgrades have to be as cheap as possible!!! I know the bike won’t be quick at first but I can develop it. I have several friends that are very good with two-strokes. If nothing else it will go round corners well, at BHR circuits this year that could be enough.
The bike has a Grimeca drum front brake which I am planning on upgrading to disc. So my first question is, are the sliders interchangeable between the two different forks. I’ve seen second hand sliders (354 and later disc 2C’s) fairly cheap can I swap them over?
Other than that the only question I have is does anybody know of a colour code that is close to the old military green they used on the 60’s race bikes? I would love to finish it off in green and silver.

See less See more
#2 ·
The later 2 c have different yokes as they have Guzzi type forks instead of marzochi. i believe the guzzi v50 has the same forks as a 250 2c they also have 2 caliper mounts. The later 2 c has an alloy barrel and larger carburrettors is said to be 32 bhp instead of 26 bhp on the earlier model.
The bike itself is only 231cc there was a kit to bore the iron barrell out to 250cc but i am not sure what pistons they used. The Benelli motobi club know some people who have tuned and raced some 2 c.
I loved both the 2 c i had in the past great 2 strokes !

#3 ·