New Member, New (to me) Benelli 250 - Questions
Benelli Motorcycle Forum - Benelli Bike Discussions - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Member, New (to me) Benelli 250 - Questions

Member #

New Member, New (to me) Benelli 250 - Questions

Hello forum members.

This winter I purchased my first 'classic' motorcycle which I've been dying to do for many many years. I have experience working on classic cars and
    was even a diesel mechanic for a short spell, but I've never attempted a restoration on a bike. (I've worked on my newer Ducati, but it doesn't require nearly as much work)

I purchased a pretty ugly looking 1965 Wards Riverside 250 that was supposedly in 'running' condition but I have yet to see it run (other than on a video provided by the seller).
    He seemed like a pretty straight up and honest dude so I took his word for it. With the weather now getting warmer here in Canada, I'm hoping to try and fire it up in the
    coming days. The previous owner has installed a new spark plug and changed the oil but I'd like to change it again before I try starting it. He also sold it to me with
    an empty tank (it was in the very cold of winter) so I'm going to add some fresh 'super unleaded' gas.

Question #1 - Is there anything else I should do to the bike/engine before I try to start it?

Question #2- the kick start seems pretty hard to kick over the few times I tried it, Is there something I can do to reduce tension on this?
    It sounds like there's good compression, but a little too stiff for my liking. Is it just the colder temps? It's hovering around the
    freezing mark here lately.

Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated!

Vince.

Name
    Rick
    Member #
    Hi , Just googled an image of this bike looks great !
    That bikes a two stroke right? ..