Ignition help
Benelli Motorcycle Forum - Benelli Bike Discussions - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ignition help

Member #

Question Ignition help

Hi, I'm hoping someone out there can help.
    I've got a Turismo 125 two-stroke single, c. 1977, registered 1980, with a replacement engine which hasn't run since 1987. It's my first project, with which I'm hoping to teach myself at least some basic mechanics. I've successfully stripped the engine and rebuilt the knackered gearbox, but although I have compression and a spark, I can't start the swearwording thing. I'll keep trying, but long-term, I'd like to replace the points with electronic ignition. Is there anything suitable? Pazon make a universal system, but that involves engineering like making a rotor, way beyond my (very) limited abilities, and getting it done professionally would be prohibitively expensive, and daft on such a low-value bike.
    Pazon also offer an Energy Booster Electronic Ignition, in both positive and negative earth versions, to use with a points ignition. I'm thinking this might be a good compromise, but know nothing (not even which version I'd need.)
    Does anyone have personal experience of one of these - are they any good, and could a complete beginner fit one?

Name
    Richard Powell
    Member #
    Hi Bill,