tunecu "reset adaption" problem?
Benelli Motorcycle Forum - Benelli Bike Discussions - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By slip

Thread: tunecu "reset adaption" problem?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Member #
    9576
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    488

    tunecu "reset adaption" problem?

    Managed finally to put an 1130 map on a friends 899 ecu (for an 1130)

    Got a bit confused initially as the lonelec cable being a usb i assumed it had to connect using usb in the menu "interface" with the appropriated drivers when in fact it has to be com3 as it's a virtual port.

    Finally everything went according to tunecu help , download was successful, told via screen to turn ignition off and remove 2 pin link plug. (this was in contrast to the written stuff which said switch ignition off first and then remove 2 pin link plug.

    Tps was then reset.

    Reading the blurb I assumed I had to then "reset adaptions" but I can't seem to get this part to go "live" i.e go from slightly greyed out to active for clicking on.

    Am I right in trying to reset adaptions or do you just run the bike so that the lamba sensor and the map alter according to the new map and engine throttle openings.

    Confused and frustrated

  2. #2
    Senior Member Rick67's Avatar
    Name
    Rick
    Member #
    16761
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Brynamman ,Wales
    Posts
    529
    Quote Originally Posted by slip View Post

    Finally everything went according to tunecu help , download was successful, told via screen to turn ignition off and remove 2 pin link plug. (this was in contrast to the written stuff which said switch ignition off first and then remove 2 pin link plug.
    nice one Slip ... now i'm confused isn't that the exact same step,

    im sure i mentioned somewhere mine connects on com port 3 too.
    i've never seen the Reset adaptations message maybe you've got a newer version of tuneecu.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Member #
    9576
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    488
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick67 View Post
    nice one Slip ... now i'm confused isn't that the exact same step,

    im sure i mentioned somewhere mine connects on com port 3 too.
    i've never seen the Reset adaptations message maybe you've got a newer version of tuneecu.

    I think what's happened is that the tunecu docs that I took off the tunecu site seemed to jump from Benelli to triumph and the way the pages have printed onto another sheet it gives the impression that it was for the Benelli .
    Looking back over it with hindsight it's referring to a triumph.

    I think i'll try and edit all the bumf so that it only relates to Benelli.

    Must be then that in Benelli mode the reset adaptions does not occur.
    Back to school for me.

    Nice learning curve , which once you get the hang of it with the proper lonlec cable seems to work well. The one thing I did notice was that the lonelec 9pin cable adapter has flashing lights that mimic the menu on tunecu but are far easier to keep eye on as to what is happening regarding connection.
    Rick67 likes this.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    BenelliForum.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Senior Member Rick67's Avatar
    Name
    Rick
    Member #
    16761
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Brynamman ,Wales
    Posts
    529

    Ahh..

    Ahh.. i see now .
    i'm so glad i just dived in head first with using the Tune Ecu software without reading the online or in fact any written instructions. i think i saw a couple of YouTube clips back when i had the bike first, but they were in italian ..
    im now running my Trek on the power mode using the latest TNT 1130 full power map and the `non power mode` .....is still a full power map off a modified dyno run from a member off this forum from Oz both of which i put together within the TuneEcu software onto my Ecu. i must say i rather like the TNT 1130 map the best and get between 40 to 42 mpg mixed riding speeds all within the national limits of course.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Member #
    9576
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    488
    just one final question , when turning the ignition on and off when following the instructions on the screen , do you wait for instance ten seconds as seen in some triumph tunecu videos.

    for example in the triumph at 8min 10secs in video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0hE2GnnqWWE&feature=player_embedded) they were doing tps reset , ignition off (for ten seconds ) then back on.

    Only video one i could find that was in english

  7. #6
    Senior Member Rick67's Avatar
    Name
    Rick
    Member #
    16761
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Brynamman ,Wales
    Posts
    529
    Slip,
    I just turn mine on or off as required without waiting really.
    never had any problems myself but it may be good practise to wait who knows eh 😉
    I was tempted to get the Android version of TuneEcu but that works via Bluetooth I think more things to complicate it .....maybe

  8. #7
    Senior Member houlster's Avatar
    Name
    Dan
    Member #
    11962
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    129
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick67 View Post
    im now running my Trek on the power mode using the latest TNT 1130 full power map
    So which one is the 'latest'? The tuneecu doesn't indicate anything like that.

    And did you use that actual tune? Or just copy the fuel/ignition maps into a Trek tune?

Sponsors

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Tunecu comparison please
    By AndiG in forum Tornado Tre
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 04-09-2015, 02:34 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-01-2013, 01:05 AM
  3. Tornado "gold" allen bolts and other "gold" questions.
    By jamesobrady in forum Tornado Tre
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-27-2011, 06:16 PM
  4. TREK - "engine problem"
    By NenadM in forum TreK
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-16-2007, 06:11 PM
  5. Dash Reset Problem - Prototype UPS ...
    By Engenia in forum Tornado Tre
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 07-16-2007, 07:47 AM
Google+