Benelli Motorcycle Forum - Benelli Bike Discussions - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: camchain 900tre

Name
    Alec
    Member #

camchain 900tre

I am a novice when it comes to working on my 900. Has hit 14000mls so thought about camchain service. Ive had conflicting info on this from has to be done, too shouldnt need doing as the chain can cope with far more miles, to the fault is with the tensioner. Ive been on Eugenes page and checked the tensioner and Im getting 49mm. I done this 3 times to make sure. Any advice or info would be welcome.

Name
    Rick
    Member #
    Hi .
    I guess it all depends on how long you've had the bike , as regards to the measurements your getting .
    My adjuster foot moves about 1mm every 2-3k miles.
    On a tre k I believe it should last about 24000 miles. I did mine at about 18k if I remember correctly.
    In changing it I checked my guides we're ok and were indeed free to move ect.
    So for me changing it is cheap £30 tops and provides the clarification of condition inside with the added bonus of not having to do it for another 20k miles or so .

Member #
    Quote Originally Posted by Alec View Post
    I am a novice when it comes to working on my 900. Has hit 14000mls so thought about camchain service. Ive had conflicting info on this from has to be done, too shouldnt need doing as the chain can cope with far more miles, to the fault is with the tensioner. Ive been on Eugenes page and checked the tensioner and Im getting 49mm. I done this 3 times to make sure. Any advice or info would be welcome.

The RS does rev on a little bit more than the Tre, and gearing wise is about 1 mile per 1000 revs lower, through the gears. Hence its miles covered will have been done at slightly higher revs, in normal road use. (just a general comparison)