No headlights dipped or main beam - Page 3
Benelli Motorcycle Forum - Benelli Bike Discussions - Powered by vBulletin
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 45
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: No headlights dipped or main beam

  1. #21
    Member
    Member #
    20553
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    45
    Morning again took tank up and turned it around,took air box off,all wires look fine unplugged them and sprayed with wd40 then plugged in and out a few times.still nothing but I did notice when I turn engine over lights come on but go out once engine fires up.still baffled lol

  2. #22
    Member
    Member #
    20553
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    45
    I can switch between main and dipped with engine cranking,but soon as fires up lights go out except side light.took switch apart that looks ok too

  3. #23
    Member
    Member #
    20553
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    45
    I am thinking the plug from the switch is the problem anybody selling a switch? Please please

  4. Remove Advertisements
    BenelliForum.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #24
    Senior Member Rick67's Avatar
    Name
    Rick
    Member #
    16761
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Brynamman ,Wales
    Posts
    858
    Quote Originally Posted by Strickymark View Post
    I can switch between main and dipped with engine cranking,but soon as fires up lights go out except side light.took switch apart that looks ok too
    That's like the complete opposite of what it should be ... Isn't it ? .
    I've not seen how the tre 900 lights work but on my Trek it's that way round.

    It's almost as if a relay somewhere is working the wrong way round ..
    Last edited by Rick67; 07-11-2020 at 02:32 PM.

  6. #25
    Senior Member
    Member #
    14194
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    686
    Quote Originally Posted by Strickymark View Post
    I am thinking the plug from the switch is the problem anybody selling a switch? Please please

    I have got the entire switch gear off that handlebar, but i do not think it is at fault.
    You can test all wiring with a multi meter , each pin in the plug gives you a coloured wire, you can trace that back into the clamp grip
    and test you have no breaks in the wires.
    The bikes with that switch gear, Tornado Tre 900 do not require the bike running to work. simply ignition on and the lights work. Side light , then headlight(beam or Dip)
    with lights off, the headlight flash works , and also works over the sidelight and dip beam being on..
    The lights remain on even if you crank the bike and continue to be on when the bike fires and is running.
    That the lights work when you are cranking the bike is your problem, that they do not with the engine running reinforces that .

  7. #26
    Senior Member
    Member #
    14194
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    686
    Quote Originally Posted by Strickymark View Post
    I am thinking the plug from the switch is the problem anybody selling a switch? Please please

    If you are determined to pursue the switch gear replacement , it is a standard Euro switch, readily available from Domino Tommaselli.
    They are on Ebay at about 50 Eu, but that seems a bit pricy just to find out , it is not the switch.
    Both Aprilia and Ducati used the switch during the 90,s but a secondhand one might be no better than the one you have.
    I know the RSV used the non light switch version.

  8. #27
    Member
    Member #
    20553
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    45
    Morning mate I am going to have a good look today thanks

  9. #28
    Member
    Member #
    20553
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    45
    I give up tested the wires on switch ,tested the wires going to fuse box all seem fine

  10. #29
    Senior Member
    Member #
    14194
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    686
    Quote Originally Posted by Strickymark View Post
    I give up tested the wires on switch ,tested the wires going to fuse box all seem fine

    Thats £50 odd saved then, if all the wires are good then a new switch gear and plugs is not going to sort it.
    Did you identify which pin/ colour cable provide the positive feed to the switch itself ?
    if you take a feed from the battery to that wire, the lights function should work. Ignore the ignition switch , and /or cranking it. or even have the engine running .
    if the lights work on all functions then , it has to be a positive feed from the ignition switch that is not providing 12v.
    see if you can get the lights to work first.

  11. #30
    Member
    Member #
    20553
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    45
    True mate true I will try the feed from battery first thanks alot bud I will get back with results

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Sponsors

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Google+