Cutting out
Benelli Motorcycle Forum - Benelli Bike Discussions - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Cutting out

  1. #1
    GBo
    GBo is offline
    Senior Member
    Member #
    18749
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    175

    Cutting out

    My bike randomly cuts out mainly when pulling up at junctions. It starts again easily when warm but a bit of a pain when cold(it starts ok cold if I open the throttle slightly) and it cut out on a long downhill. I have fitted a new stepper, plugs, balanced throttle bodies and set tick over. Any other ideas please

  2. #2
    Senior Member Rick67's Avatar
    Name
    Rick
    Member #
    16761
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Brynamman ,Wales
    Posts
    426
    I'm pretty sure that's a mapping issue .
    It's well documented on here somewhere Glynn.
    I'm sure it was also linked to a stepper issue . I know you've changed yours but it may need setting on a gadget

  3. #3
    GBo
    GBo is offline
    Senior Member
    Member #
    18749
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    175
    It looks like the mixture at tickover is automatically adjusted by the ecu as it is spot on at virtually lambda 1 or do you have to remove the lambda and set manually. Good info is hard to get and the manual is a bit pants.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    BenelliForum.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Senior Member Rick67's Avatar
    Name
    Rick
    Member #
    16761
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Brynamman ,Wales
    Posts
    426
    Ahh .. In that case have a go at increasing or decreasing the global O2 figures maybe that'll help.
    It's hard to know what works best for your bike , trial and error stuff

  6. #5
    Senior Member Engenia's Avatar
    Name
    Errol Kowald
    Member #
    27
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Canberra, ACT, Australia
    Posts
    5,342
    Nell idles better a little rich, around 12:1, and is less prone to stalling as you have described.
    Easy adjustment with TuneECU.

    Just make sure that the stepper is moving freely first. It won't idle properly if the stepper is sticky.
    ron d likes this.
    hooroo, Errol www.engenia.com.au [136,351 km - and counting .....]

  7. #6
    GBo
    GBo is offline
    Senior Member
    Member #
    18749
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    175
    Got a map from Alex @ maniac put it in set co as his instructions went out last night and a it was bit lumpy but didn’t stall. Early this morning though stalled about 5 or 6 times on a trip across town(obviously temperature was well down) what co readings are people using on the 899 engine.

    Alex said the following when warm
    idle 2 to 4% up from shut and reset TPS
    idle co 1.5 to 2.5%
    co correction 4% at 3000rpm

    any ideas apart from take it to Bennett’s obviously?

  8. #7
    Senior Member Rick67's Avatar
    Name
    Rick
    Member #
    16761
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Brynamman ,Wales
    Posts
    426
    What rpm is the bike idling at when the engine has warmed up Glynn ? .
    Those figures he's given you mean nothing to me anyway ... 4% throttle maybe ??

  9. #8
    GBo
    GBo is offline
    Senior Member
    Member #
    18749
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    175
    I think he meant totally shut butterflies reset TPS open 2 to 4% reset TPS again the warm up and set co to 1.5 to 2.5% then set co correction so that at 3000 rpm set co to 4%. Does that sound the right way to go about it?
    On the 900 Errol suggests setting co to 3% I couldn’t get it to go that high.

  10. #9
    Junior Member George1's Avatar
    Member #
    18811
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    21
    What ecu do you have, and what map have you downloaded? Can you call me
    Last edited by George1; 05-25-2019 at 12:42 PM.

  11. #10
    GBo
    GBo is offline
    Senior Member
    Member #
    18749
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    175
    Hi George my ecu is walbro and the map I got from Alex at maniac it’s marked as open loop tre899k but in tuneecu it says tnt I will get more details.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Sponsors

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. 900 RS Tornado Cutting out
    By marsh in forum General Benelli Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-22-2009, 04:33 PM
  2. Cutting Out when Hot!!!
    By Explodingtoad in forum Tornado Tre
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-09-2008, 02:53 PM
  3. Cutting out when stationary !!
    By bubseywoo in forum TNT
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-28-2008, 03:35 PM
  4. cutting out
    By ferret in forum TreK
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-23-2008, 10:57 AM
  5. rs cutting out
    By 5tuy in forum Tornado Tre
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 05-27-2006, 10:25 PM
Google+