Benelli Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy normally I'm on the leoncino bit but just bought myself a125 Benelli and a Honda from......is the chinelli 125 a loud Tappy motor from stock or do I need to do a valve adjustment cos this thing sounds like it's sending Morse code messages from the top end and I'm certain it ain't diesel......I'm new to this bike and need some advice in return when I find my feet I'll pass down all my knowledge as I go.cheers

·
Registered
609 Posts
I wouldn’t think it should be particularly tappy. Get the valves checked. Is it an automatic cam chain adjuster on this engine? If not check that as well. Sorry don’t know this engine but hopefully someone who does will be along soon.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah I'm of same op

Opinion I'll rip the cover off tonight and have a sus with my feelers

·
Registered
8 Posts
You can check the valves to be sure they're in speck (0.08mm-0.1mm all around). But yes this engine is fairly tappy. There is a plate above the valves in in the valve cover that's tinny and kinda projects the sound of the valves. My 135 valves sounds louder than I would think but everything is timed and in spec.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #5