Benelli Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm a newbie but am desparate for any info you may have.

My 2004 900 RS Tornado starts, runs for about 3 mins then cuts out. It stops dead ( not runnin on 2 cylinders ) and the Engine management light comes on when this happens.

This started after the bike was laid up in my garage for a short while. Up until then it went fine.

I have checked the crank position sensor & its not that .

Would really appreciate any other tips I could check out first before going to my nearest dealer

·
5,929 Posts
My 2004 900 RS Tornado starts, runs for about 3 mins then cuts out. It stops dead ( not runnin on 2 cylinders ) and the Engine management light comes on when this happens.
It could be any number of things, but it sounds a bit like it's lost fuel pressure to the injectors. The ECU would log an error if it detected a problem with the pump.

You need to get an Axione attached, to find out what the ECU is trying to tell you.
Tuneboy would tell you as well.

·
1,841 Posts
So when it stops will it start again immediatly? or will it start after a certain time? Will it cut out if you keep revs up slightly? try with fuel cap open (could be blocked vent) Have you got petrol in the tank !!?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Frustrated

Hey guys sorry bout the delay in responding - work v busy & all that.

The bike will NOT restart immediately. After some time ( tho I've never measured how long ) it will start again.

It seems to be ok after its cooled down completely.

There is plenty of juice in the tank. I will check the tank breather & try starting it with the cap open.

Thanks for the help so far.

·
Super Moderator
7,774 Posts
...or it could be that your injectors are bunged up if the bike has been standing unused for a long time.

Oh, and welcome to the Forum too. :clap:

·
Fyule
697 Posts
Hi Marsh