Benelli Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Advice on Scrapping a TNT

This is an unusual subject for a first post, but unfortuneately I only found this site after the unthinkable happened.

I got my black/silver TNT in Jan 06. An unusual step-up from the 125 scooter which I had been commuting on for three years, but once I saw it in the shop, it was 'love at first sight'. I had a brilliant year with it - riding into work everyday (whatever the weather!) and a tour of the west of Ireland in the summer.

Unfortunately, on the way into work after the Christmas break, an idiot minicab driver decided to test my psychic abilities. He was in the outside lane, stationary, indicating to turn right. As I was about to pass him on the left, he changed his mind and decided to park on the left, completely taking me out:mad: . After 12 weeks I am now starting to walk normally again , and now have so much metal in my left leg we can finally get channel 5 if I stand next to the TV (every cloud etc.).

I won't be able to ride for at least another year (if at all :mad: ), so my friendly west-london benelli dealer put it a repair quote which effectively wrote-off the bike, even though it is only the front (lights/display/radiators/tank) which is damaged - everything behind the tank is unmarked.

The insurance company wrote-off and paid up for the bike, but deducted £1000 for scrap value. So, I'm now looking for the least-hassle way of turning the remains into cash.
I suppose my options are:
ebay (as parts or as a whole);
Exchange-and-mart etc;
or a motorcycle salvage company;

This was my first (and hopefully last) accident, so I am completely 'green' on such issues. I'd really appreciate any advice you guys can offer on how to do this easily.

Thanks.

·
Registered
736 Posts
Hi Simonm,
Sorry to hear about your accident.
If you decide to break it I will be up for an offer on the bike.
Was it a standard TNT or a sport?