Benelli Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I,ve put the deposit down and will be collecting at the weekend a 2004 Tornado. Silver Black, 2000 miles. I have been lusting after one for about 5 years, but never right time, place money etc.

From what I see and hear there are problems ahead, so if you guys can give me a heads up on what to expect and how to overcome I will be grateful. The clocks have already been changed.

I did't ask before I brought as I might never have parted with the cash. Anyway break it to me gently.
Thanks

·
Registered
1,888 Posts
Hi Phil, welcome to the fold! I picked mine up only yesterday after a similar lusting period! There are a number of issues you will have to live with as there is no fix -

Clocks resetting (doesnt matter what version you have it seems)
Stalling occasionally when slowing down (I only found this one out yesterday but apparently a known issue). This one is solved by altering your riding style it appears. I will let you know if that works for me!
Nigh on impossible to find neutral, except when the engine is off or slowing to a stop. Another one that is down to getting used to how to do it.

Apart from that, the major things I know about from my own research which you should be checking are done are the clutch basket, cam chain guide, lower fairing panels, idler gear and a sensor in the airbox that has to be moved. There may be others the more seasoned members can tell you about. The first 2 are critical as the engine could go bang without them.

All that aside, the bikes charms far outweigh the niggles. I have had many bikes and none has yet given me the buzz this one does when I ride it or just look at it ;-)

Good luck!

Borat

·
Registered
19 Posts