Benelli Forum banner
1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
864 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been looking for a while for a yellow RS. Today in my lunch break i was browsing and phoned to enquire about one.. next thing the switch card is out and Im getting it in a fortnight.
What have I done :doh:
The R1 is going.. fell in love with the Benelli but so hope I did not make the wrong decision :p

·
Registered
1,680 Posts
Well done and welcome to the fold.... :)
You will never be the same again.... :rolling:

The R1 is a fantastic machine but oh so sterile and to be honest, common as sh*te. :D

·
Registered
864 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I know, I have been riding bikes for many years and R1's for the last 6 of them. I fell in love with the Benelli many years ago but never took the plunge for my fear of how fragile they might be, lack of parts etc...

Im absolutely delighted however and hope it meets my expectations. I ride about 8000 miles every year in all weathers.. i just hope it does not let me down. The R1 might have been common but it was reliable!

Also, is there anything I need to be aware of in terms of recalls? It is a late 2005 reg but 2004 model as they all are?

I als need to get a race pipe for it.. Arrow i believe?... where can I get one? and will in need an ecu update?

Thanks in advance

·
1,841 Posts
Hi mr n33ly, welcome to the "Yellowbenelliclub", If you fit the race can you need the 6105 map,the standard map is 6103,there are no others for RS.
I did not think the clock reset problem applied to RS,but I think i did read of one with fault,my clocks have not had a problem. I have had loose front and left engine mounts and also the locknut on rear mount by the clutch,these faults occur on any models so worth checking. The RS clutch has the larger middle gear but my RS is off road waiting for a new clutch at the moment.:(
Engenias site covers most things that may need doing. :ele:

·
Registered
864 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Colintornado