Benelli Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
512 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!

Brand new member and first posting so be nice!

My year old Benelli Tornado Tre arrived yesterday. Had a few issues already so thought this might be an ideal place to get some answers!

Firstly it wouldn't start which, as suspected was the battery. The bike has been hardly been used in the last 12 months and has been sitting in a dealership for a while. I replaced the battery last night with a new one which solved problem number 1 (incidentally is it just me or is the battery specifically designed to be as difficult as possible to remove and even harder to put back in?).

Now, just to explain, I am a complete novice when it comes to bike maintenance as my previous bikes have all been bulletproof brand new Hondas so I was feeling rather smug when the engine howled into action. Needless to say I went for a very long test ride (with a huge smile on my face). Had a couple of positive comments at the petrol station about how nice the bike was which I've never had before!

I love the bike however I was nearly caught out by the turning circle when I went into a dead end I can normally do a U-turn in with ease. Didn't realise this was a trait of these bikes (or maybe it isn't and I just messed it up).

I then spotted problem number 2. Left rear indicator wasn't working. Thought I'd be smart and swap the bulb with the right one to check it was the bulb as it looked ok when I removed it. And yes, you guessed it, now neither of them works, with either bulb! Aaaargh!

If I push the bulbs in there is a point where contact appears to be made and it will work but this only lasts for one flash then its lost. Anyone had this problem? I'm guessing there's probably something I can do to clean up the connections? Seems strange that the right one immediately stopped working as soon as I opened it.