Benelli Forum banner
1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Newbie needs advice.....

Hello all.........I'm new to the whole Benelli thing but am about to make the jump early in the new year and am looking at a Tornado with low miles but need a bit of help if you'd oblige fellas. I've been trying to gen-up on all the in and outs of ownership and have been searching the threads for as much info as poss. Also stumbled across Greggy's recent 'To buy' post and we're almost living in parallel worlds but I still have a couple of questions....

Before the Q's a bit of background.....my recent history is that after a teeth-rattling stint on a GSX-R1K I bought a Triumph Speed Triple and loved it apart from the lack of wind protection. I was later going to France on an organised trip and needed said wind protection so chucked it in for a cheap Falco. Just bought it for the trip but when I got back I decided I was keeping it so tweaked it up over the next two years. I bought some Ohlins, OZ's, mille swinger, Gilles etc and took it as far as I could but still wanted the pull and smoothness of a triple (or a big four) again. I'm on a tight budget (£4500 max.) and was looking through the Autotrader website and was amazed to find you can get a 53 or 04 plate Tornado for well under my budget. Never even considered one before as I thought they were crazy money but was also drawn to the fact that they're aren't that many of them about, something I liked about the Falco....as to the price I nearly fell off my chair so have feverishly spent the last few weeks looking around for the right bike.