Benelli Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie to the site but was hoping to obtain your collective experience of Tornado ownership. I dare say you've heard it all before so apologies if you have a sense of deja vous!

I was at the NEC show at the weekend & found myself drawn to the Benelli stand. I had always regarded the Tornado as a stunning looking bike, but thought it was exotica beyond my reach. However I was intrigued by the quoted price for the 900Subsequent browsing on the net has found various dealers quoting around £6,250 to £6,500.

I'm thinking about changing my bike next yr ( a 2003 Yam R6) and now the Tornado looks like a tempting proposition. The thing is I'm accustomed to Japanese reliability so I'm trying to ascertain whether it would be a wise choice for me. Horses for courses I know, but would appreciate any advice you can offer.

I use my bike mainly for fair weather use & do around 5,000 miles a year. This is likely to inc a 1,500 mile trip through europe plus 3 or 4 track days. Therefore I need something that is happy to both scratch & cope with a long run without breaking down! How does the finish hold up after a few yrs use? What's your general experience of build quality as I tend to keep my bikes for 4-5yrs?

How good is dealer support & spares availability? Is servicing more pricey than for other marques? My local dealers would be Forza Italia or Red Dog I guess, perhaps On Yer Bike - any comments?

I read something on here about tricky neutral selection. Any other common probs that I need to be aware of? How well does the underseat cooling system cope with hot weather? One of the chaps I spoke to on the NEC stand stand assured me that faults that had affected earlier models had been ironed out - he also mentioned something about them replacing clutch assemblies...