Benelli Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
254 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I searched the threads for a few hours and couldn't find the one with the LE that blew an engine. Being a Newbie, I figured I'd ask the pro's. I'm just a little concerned that they put some of the tre's internals into the last few LE's to get them out the door. Please put my fears to rest as I love the bike. I think I remember it being an earlier LE. I was also curious about the rotor spacing for the Moto Corse radial mounts and calipers. It appears to require about 5mm each more offset. Has anyone else done this or know who to ask before I take my baby apart?? I'd like to have the rotors in hand first. You can see the lower legs in my album. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks again. Life would be tough without this forum.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Hello ..... that would be me with the expired LE engine.

It was a 2003 bike that had the engine put together in 2002 by Moto Morini. I think that quality control was not what it should have been at that time as they were getting the machines out of the door for WSB homologation purposes.

I just got unlucky. The dealer that stripped the engine told me that the small circlip that holds in the middle piston gudgeon pin (I think you all call them "wrist" pins over there), had cam out allowing the gudgeon pin to float out ..... then everything made contact with everything else. The bike had only done 3,500 miles.

Neither me nor any of the lads and lassies who dealt with the problem had ever heard of anything like that happening before. I am putting it down to a complete one off freak incident.